screenshot_20170305-1502201.png

this is the journey of

surviving through poetry

this is the blood sweat tears

of twenty-one years

this is my heart

in your hands

this is

the hurting

the loving

the breaking

the healing

-rupi kaur


Good evening and welcome to another review.

This is actually the first time I read a collection of poems in one go and it is very likely that you are not supposed to read poems like that, I would not know, poems are not what I usually read although I find them intriguing as a form of literature.

I saw this book a lot all over social media – probably because the cover is wonderfully simply and yet pretty – and I have to admit that I never paid much attention to it until someone-who-can-be-named-if-they-want-me-to mentioned it in a disgruntled way. I got curious and since it is a rather short book, I read it on a Sunday morning within an hour.

One reason why I so rarely read poems is that oftentimes I cannot seem to connect to the poem in any way, neither the words nor the mood or emotions speak to me whatsoever and the only thing I am seeing is a string of words, meshed together to build something – an emotion, an image, an atmosphere – that I cannot grasp for whatever reason.

I would like to say that this was not the case with this collection, but that would be a lie. However, the majority of what I read actually struck a chord with me although not on a personal level, but as something I could imagine or empathize with. the hurting was something foreign to me, the loving something I could imagine, the breaking something I could understand on an abstract level, and the healing something I could feel. The poems seemed like a story that was being told in bits and pieces, in waves of emotions and teeth shaped words. And maybe it was that, a story being told, but since it was told in poems it felt more like reading a diary (and maybe it was that).

Parts of the book that I valued quite a bit were the doodles and the way some poems were arranged, it added to the poems and made the a little more enjoyable so even the parts and pieces that did not speak to me were at least nice to look at or rather, I could appreciate them in another way. I also valued the spontaneous bursts of inspiration I got from reading some pieces, the warm reassurance from most of the particularly feminist pieces and in general the refreshing feeling of finishing a book within an hour without feeling like it was way too short. The bite behind some words sometimes surprised me, but it also got me thinking on how to word one’s own worldview and how sometimes teethed words are probably necessary.

As a whole (and from a perspective of someone who only occasionally ‘gets’ poetry) the book/collection is a nice read and well, I would certainly recommend to take a look if you can, see if it is something you would enjoy.

